• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Beginning allegro

This topic is 3577 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I am a beginner at programming games. I started learning from the book "game programming all in one, 2nd edition". This is one of the pieces of code i was trying to make work. The textprintf() function seems to be the main issue here. I have put both the code as well as the compile log below.Any solutions will be appreciated. Thanks!
#include <conio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <allegro.h>

int main()
{
//initialize Allegro
allegro_init();

//initialize the keyboard
install_keyboard();

//initialize video mode to 640x480
int ret = set_gfx_mode(GFX_AUTODETECT_WINDOWED, 640, 480, 0, 0);
if (ret != 0) {
allegro_message(allegro_error);
return -1;
}

//------------problem part---------------
//display screen resolution
textprintf(screen, font, 0, 0, makecol(255, 255, 255),
“%dx %d”, SCREEN_W, SCREEN_H);
//------------problem part---------------

//wait for keypress
while(!key[KEY_ESC]);

//end program
allegro_exit();

return 0;
}
END_OF_MAIN();