• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

[Opengl] Some info about textures

This topic is 3469 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello guys, i am studying on the Redbook and i have just finished chpaters 8 and 9 (raster graphic and textures). There is something giving me troubles.
void makeCheckImage(void)
{
   int i, j, c;

for (i = 0; i < checkImageHeight; i++) {
      for (j = 0; j < checkImageWidth; j++) {
         c = ((((i&0x8)==0)^((j&0x8))==0))*255;
         checkImage[j][0] = (GLubyte) c;
         checkImage[j][1] = (GLubyte) c;
         checkImage[j][2] = (GLubyte) c;
         checkImage[j][3] = (GLubyte) 255;
      }
   }
}
What's the mean of this code:
? I khnow from the result image that sometime c is 255 and sometime it's 0 but can someone show me the "long" form of this short one? This is more a c++ question i khnow :D The whole routine creates a 2D array where for each pixel the r,g,b and a components are specified. Am i right? Tell me if i am right coz i am not sure :D Why doed it use GLubytes and not some other format? Now i can imagine the clue in creating a 2d-texture since it will be sticked onto a polygon for example. There is, but, an example on the redbook (the 9.6 one) where to create a texture he uses a 1D array. I wont post the whole code or will be too long. In this ex there is:
void makeStripeImage(void)
{
   int j;

for (j = 0; j < stripeImageWidth; j++) {
      stripeImage[4*j] = (GLubyte) ((j<=4) ? 255 : 0);
      stripeImage[4*j+1] = (GLubyte) ((j>4) ? 255 : 0);
      stripeImage[4*j+2] = (GLubyte) 0;
      stripeImage[4*j+3] = (GLubyte) 255;
   }
}