Sign in to follow this  

Problem with window immediately closing after execution

This topic is 3477 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm relatively new to DirectX programming and I've recently run into a very strange problem with a program. The issue I'm having is that when I compile the program, I don't get any errors, but then when I attempt to run the .exe file (from a Debug compile), the window opens and then immediately exits. I don't get any sort of errors, no "unhandled exception" messages, just nothing. However if I run the program through debug, the window opens and the program works exactly as it should. Has anyone else encountered such weirdness? How can I fix this? As a side note and to offer a bit more context, I've found that I frequently have to change the vertex processing to software instead of hardware because my laptop (Dell Inspiron 6000) has a video chipset that does not support hardware acceleration. Could this be a cause? I've uploaded my VS2005 project to the below URL if anyone could be so kind as to take a look and offer some insight: http://www.webetry.com/SG220/Stranded2005.zip

I haven't tried your code, but it sounds like some load function is failing because the working directory is different. If you load anything like textures or meshes, are you exiting the program if the application fails?

And are you using the Debug Runtimes? Even if you're running the app from explorer, you can use something like DebugView to view the debug output.

do you have an update loop in your game? sounds like it might be doing exactly what it's supposed to do. unless you keep the computer busy, your program will terminate.

Quote:
Original post by Evil Steve