• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

How scripting works? (detailed)

This topic is 3511 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, i'm relatively new to game programming and find the concept of scripting very interesting. I'm currently attempting to learn more about it, and while i understand the macro concept of how scripting works i'm not able to work it out in my head just exactly how scripting for a game engine would work. Not so much how it would work computationally but where the scripts fit into the update, render loop. The guides on the internet that i have found seem to either assume a working knowledge of scripting languages or cover too general a topic and never get down to the gritty details of how it works. Any help, links or responses, would be much appreciated.

Advertisement
The way I do mine is I have a Script Handler that loads all the scripts you wanna use for the current level. At first they are toggled all to off.

Then if they are flagged to run on startup or continuously they are turned on and as well they are turned on if they are called from an object.

Then each frame one line from each active script is executed and if the end of the script is reached then they are toggled to off.

Pretty simple psuedo-multithreaded idea. Got the idea from Tim Sweeny's ZZT game actually.

Hey another guy from the Pittsburgh Area, that's awesome.

oh okay, so the game loop would just check the active scripts before each update/render cycle. thanks for clearing that up for me.

edit: go steelers

Scripting is easier for semi-programmers to make use of/clone in regular patterns to fill in the object behavior/asset control in games. Its usually significantly slower than native code so should be used at a high level where the engine primitves it invokes do the costly detailed work.