• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Need help gettin started with DirectX

This topic is 3568 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been trying to learn DirectX for the past few days using the DirectX Tutorial site, but it moves to fast for me, and I feel extremly confused. I also don't really understand what I am doing or how I am doing it. Its not that I'm a noob, I just need some better tutorials, and I would greatly appreciate it if some of you guys on here could point me to some awesome beginner tutorials for D3D. I want to learn DirectX for a 3D game, not 2D. And by the way, like I said, I'm not a noob. I know C++ really well, I just havn't done any graphics programming in it. I actually don't use it very often, but now I decided to switch from Dark Basic Professional to C++ for my games after about a year of DBP.

Advertisement
Don't know of any sites really, but the book I'm using: Introduction to 3D Game Programming with DirectX 9.0 by Frank D. Luna, is working pretty well for me. (Also a noob) There's a good explanation of what's doing what and example code. Sorry to suggest something that'll cost ya though.

What do you mean by "the DirectX Tutorial site"?

I used www.directxtutorial.com to learn it from scratch. I hope you are not talking about that site, cause it is the easiest one out there! You wont find a better one anywhere else.

Quote:
Original post by Timptation
Don't know of any sites really, but the book I'm using: Introduction to 3D Game Programming with DirectX 9.0 by Frank D. Luna, is working pretty well for me. (Also a noob) There's a good explanation of what's doing what and example code. Sorry to suggest something that'll cost ya though.