• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
roloenusa

Displaying text with DirectX

This topic is 3806 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone, I'm currently trying to display some text on the screen. I've done some reading and research but I can't seem to find a definitve answer on what's a better, faster or/and more efficient method. I'm pretty new to directx so even a good tutorial on this can be extremely useful. What I've read so far is that creating a sheet of characters and painting them on the screen is much easier and faster than using D3DFONT, but those post seem to be from 2003 and ealier. Have things changed? is it still easier or is it better to use the libraries in DirectX? Thank you soo much for your time! =D

Advertisement
Hi,

I would like also have an answer about this.

On my project, I'm using sprites to display text (I use common code with opengl, so it's better to have a same display).

I'm just using DXFONT (with "nice" arial) for a debug console, and clearly, when this console is activated, the framerate is divided by two...
But I think - and I hope - it's due to a wrong coding (I should take an hour to check... But if someone confirms there is no major impact on fps...)

It depends on your requirements as to what to use for in-game fonts. ID3DXFont is a great general purpose solution. If you just want some debug text to display information such as framerate then ID3DXFont is just fine. However since it is a general purpose solution, if you want a full-scale, feature rich font system, you will have to roll your own.

For the two of you however, i strongly recommend that you use ID3DXFont until you KNOW that you need something better. It can be a lot of work to write a font system (depending on how you want to render it mainly).