• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
valkrin

How to implement rolling hills in 2d game?

This topic is 3631 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone. I'm new to game programming and am creating a 2d game. I'd like to have rolling hills, and uneven terrain, much like Sonic the Hedgehog. I'm not sure how to go about implementing the rolling hills. In addition, I'm not sure how to do collision detection with curves. I've read about the separating axis theorem and from my understanding that only works with convex polygons. Any help, a link to an article a tutorial, just something to set me down the right path, would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Advertisement
I haven't tried the "rolling hills" thing, but I did do arbitrary collision detection with 2d terrain before.

One restriction, my terrain was, er, the mathematical word escapes me (driving me nuts, trying to think of the word), but it means, for any given x-value, there is exactly one y-value.

My terrain was a fractal, represented by a series of line segments, a sequence of (x,y) coords. So, I had maybe a few thousand line segments representing the terrain, sorted by x value.