• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
KungFooMasta

OpenGL Screen capture to bmp orjpg?

This topic is 3798 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm new to OpenGL programming, and I'm using OpenGL ES, trying to do a simple screen capture and save it to disk. I've seen people mention I need to use glReadPixels and flip the bytes, or restructure in BGR mode, etc. I've seen code to write a TGA, but I'm unable to view those types of files. Is there an easy way to create a bitmap or jpeg? Any help is appreciated.

Advertisement
Hidden
This is the code I use for saving a screenshot, but I'm using SDL. Maybe you can modify it in some way? If not, just ignore this post. :)

void SaveScreenshot(char *filename) {
SDL_Surface *temp;
unsigned char *pixels;
int i;

if (SDL_BYTEORDER == SDL_LIL_ENDIAN)
temp = SDL_CreateRGBSurface(SDL_SWSURFACE, MainScreen->w, MainScreen->h, 24, 0x000000FF, 0x0000FF00, 0x00FF0000, 0);
else
temp = SDL_CreateRGBSurface(SDL_SWSURFACE, MainScreen->w, MainScreen->h, 24, 0x00FF0000, 0x0000FF00, 0x000000FF, 0);

if (temp != NULL) {
pixels = malloc(3 * MainScreen->w * MainScreen->h);
if (pixels != NULL) {
glReadPixels(0, 0, MainScreen->w, MainScreen->h, GL_RGB, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, pixels);

for (i = 0; i < MainScreen->h; i++)
memcpy(((char *) temp->pixels) + temp->pitch * i, pixels + 3 * MainScreen->w * (MainScreen->h-i-1), MainScreen->w * 3);
free(pixels);

SDL_SaveBMP(temp, filename);
}
SDL_FreeSurface(temp);
}

Message(LOG_GAME, "Screenshot saved as &y%s&w.", filename);
}

Quote:
Original post by KungFooMasta
I'm new to OpenGL programming, and I'm using OpenGL ES, trying to do a simple screen capture and save it to disk. I've seen people mention I need to use glReadPixels and flip the bytes, or restructure in BGR mode, etc.