• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
rev6604

need help with a launching program

This topic is 3780 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, i am new to game programming, but i have made an FPS with multiple maps. Each map runs as an individual game, and im going to be releasing new maps each month. I dont want users who play it to have to have 30 icons of maps so i want to make a simple launching program. I dont really want it to be graphical, so like a .BAT file or something in basic. I wouldnt mind makin it in VB 2008, but i dont really know much programming. I would like for it to list all the maps the game has so far (i would update and release a new launcher every time a new map comes out) and it would display the names of all the maps. Next to the names, it would display a number. The user just has to type in the number, hit enter, and the file closes and opens up the map. I would like to do this very much but i really dont know where to begin. (i dont need it to be like this, but this is what i invision when i think about it). I thought it would be pretty simple, i know ive seen someone do something like it before, and it didnt take too many lines of code (i dont think). Can someone help me, or direct me to a place that can help me? I really just need to know how to make it for map #1 , maybe #2, because each set would be the same except for the location of the file right?

Advertisement
Well, since you made a whole FPS you know some GUI, so you should just make them all one program and add a title screen?

-DM

ya i know a little bit. I just figured it out though. I really didnt want a graphical display, i just wanted text base, but after being an idiot for a few hours, i figured out how to do it. thnx any ways guys.

Sign in to follow this  

• Advertisement

Important Information