• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Gawain22

Making a 2D RPG

This topic is 3686 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everyone , I am new to game development and programming. I thought that trying to create a 2D RPG (probably a really simple one) would be a great way to get myself started in game development and help me learn a programming language. The problem is I do not really know what programming language and/or game engine to use. I have thought about using the Python Programming Language. I looked at the PyGame engine and it looked nice. I'm not just not so sure I like the idea of putting up the code for my game as open-source , though. I would also like to be able to use a game engine that would allow me to sell it commercially. I know that in the beginning it probably won't happen , but as I learn I would like to be able to create a game that could maybe be sellable when I learn enough about programming and game development. I would really want to keep my beginning costs low , at around $30 to $50 for the program I would be buying , or maybe a book or two on the programming language I will be using. Wow , I typed a alot! Any help would be appreciated ; thanks.

Advertisement
Hi,

to be quiet honest, and I don't wanna burst your bubble, I think you're taking the wrong approach to making games.

Learning a programing language (any programing language) takes a lot of time on it self let alone make games. It is something you can learn from books, but it requires a lot of time and patience. And creating a game is a lot of work even for a simple 2D RPG.

I think the best thing you can do, is forget about making money on a game for now, and concentrate on learning the basics of the language you wanna use. Once you have a basic knowledge of the language, you should start doing guessing and text games.