• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
AtsusaKai

Help on Fullscreen

This topic is 3744 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, i'm new to directx(game) programming, and i am having problems with the fullscreen mode. On execution the app will go to fullscreen just fine, but when i try to change to another window, therefore minimizing or (alt+tab)ing the app, error occurs when I go back. It says something about a problem on the device reset, that i wasn't able to handle it when the device was lost. I hope you can help me or pinpoint me to topics that solve this problem. I'm using Microsoft Visual C++ 2005. Thanks a lot!

Advertisement
Check out Direct3DDevice9::TestCooperativeLevel.
Call that in the main Render() function before you do any rendering.

Basically, when you switch to another app, your app loses the device (D3DERR_DEVICELOST). When this happens, you should release all D3DPOOL_DEFAULT resources that you have such as textures, vertex buffers and effects. The latter has the OnDeviceLost() function for you to call.

When you switch back to your app, you'll get D3DERR_DEVICENOTRESET, so you need to call IDirect3DDevice9::Reset to re-initialize the full-screen graphics mode, and then re-create the resources that you released when you lost the device.

It's important that you release all default-pool resources when you lose the device, otherwise the Reset() will fail.

man..

That problem is horrible. It really sucks too because you can't really find answer anywhere about it. I'm new to games myself and I ran into this a couple of weeks back.

The short answer:

Your message pump needs to handle the alt+tab properly. The issue is not limited to full screen. It probably happens on window mode but you haven't noticed the full range of it's error.

The long answer: