• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
kapil1089theking

Combat game

This topic is 3719 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I am very new to this Gamedev. I want to devlope an Air-Combat Game. My System: Display adapter:Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family. OS: Windows XP(SP2) I'm familiar with Graphics theory and made a Java AWT/Swing Combat 2D Game but was very slow. I'm familiar with C++. But never worked with Windows Programing or Library like OpenGL. I want to know what to do I mean I wanna go for C++ and OpenGL, is it good choice I just want to confirm my choice I have gone through this web suggestions on same topic.Plz suggest me to find the respective softwares/libraries. If free then best and faster language is needed.

Advertisement
Well its not OpenGL but to be honest I haven't really seen a great amount of tutorials in OpenGL but Riemers tutorials with DirectX and C++/C# are pretty good:

http://www.riemers.net/eng/Tutorials/dxcpp.php

There is an awesome flight sim tutorial on there. He hasn't quite got the flight movement right, it doesn't rotate in a 3D space very well but that's down to his maths which I'm sure could be fixed.

I will warn you though that game development in C++ with DirectX is very difficult, I found that I couldn't work out where C++ ends and DirectX begins. C# offers much better structure, it colours objects and and likes to finish code for you (if you are working in visual studio). If you then migrate to C++ its much easier to understand what the hell is going on with the DirectX!

Andy

Hi!
I see you have the basics of game programming. I've never worked with OpenGL (I only use DX9) but I would suggest this page for tutorials. Is very good and complete: Nehe Tutorials
Or if you are going for DirectX9 I would suggest: DirectXTutorials