• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
In_Yack_Mode

new to programming

This topic is 3624 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm pretty new to programming and have built a bunch of calculators and text based games and things like that over the past year and now want to start making graphical games does anyone have any online tutorials or book suggestions? thank you

Advertisement
First thing: Choose OpenGL or Direct3D, I use OpenGL but it's preference, look into which one you would rather choose. Second, look up some basic tutorials, there are hundreds all over the internet, all can be found by google. And choose what you are going to do, maybe a tetris/pong game first, maybe a 2D tile game, maybe straight into a 3D game (which is what I did), it's all about what you want to do, give us an idea what you want to do.

Thanks for the quick reply!

I have a game i would like to clone but im not sure what its called but theres a bunch of block and you have a paddle and a ball and you hit the ball and break the blocks, what should i do to try and make that?

You want to make a game similiar to Brick breaker I guess, so what you need to do it choose your rendering API (OpenGL or Direct3D), I suggest using SDL also for creating the game window, keyboard/mouse input, a way to load pictures (I use SDL_image), and lastly just read up on some tutorials. Pretty much your just going to have a ball with a speedX, speedY, locationX, locationY, directionX, directionY, and every frame add the directions to the locations and check if it is colliding with the paddle/bricks which have the varaibles locationX, locationY, width, height. It's going to involve some thinking but if you can read/understand tutorials nicely and know a some C++, you should be fine.