• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
elabarley

Need Help coming up with damage calculation formulas

This topic is 3619 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am a newbie in the field and is working on a pet project; online browser based, turn based, text rpg based on the Naruto anime/manga series. I want the battles to last 5-10 rounds. Assuming the players have the same stats, I want the damage dealt to be in the range of 1000-2000. People will have varying amount of health points, considering that there are missions that award health points. Here are the stats that the players are going to train. Offense/Defensive stats Accuracy: Intelligence: Resolve: Speed: Strength: Genjutsu Offense: Ninjutsu Offense: Taijutsu Offense: Weapon technique Offense: Genjutsu Defense: Ninjutsu Defense: Taijutsu Defense: Weapon technique Defense: Battles are going to be carried out through the use of "jutsu." Jutsus have levels and each jutsu class (genjutsu, ninjutsu, etc) should have it's own damage calculation. I have never designed a battle, so please I am looking for suggestions and help. Also, if there's somewhere I can search for someone I can pay to come up with the formulas, I'd be more than grateful. Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
I would write a simplified prototype to simulate battles for say, a few hours, taking out specific statistical information. For example, if it is observed that a relatively higher share of winners have high "Weapon technique Offense" attribs, it may be an indicator that this attrib is too powerful compared to others.

For the rest, you should be putting in an initial idea. People here will try their best to help you but won't do your work from scratch.