• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
FenixRoA

C# Database/Dataset

This topic is 3709 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello again GameDev, I want to store a bunch of pictures in a database/dataset. It's possible that this database will store all of the pictures/photos on someones computer, so the size of the database can easily balloon up. At the moment there is no need to transfer the data or any part of it over a network. From what I understand (and I am a NEWBIE as far as database/dataset programming and the difference between them) if I want to use a dataset, I would either need to save the dataset into seperate files, or load the entire dataset (which may have ballooned to the size of a few gigabytes), use it and then save the entire dataset. Is this true? Would I be forced to do that? If so, would using an access database be any better? I've looked up a bit about this, and I figured out how to save the dataset to a binary file (without it being all XML text), but I can't find any articles that explain to me exactly what I need. Maybe I just don't know the keywords I need to google. Your help is very much appreciated, ~FenixRoA

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by FenixRoA
From what I understand (and I am a NEWBIE as far as database/dataset programming and the difference between them) if I want to use a dataset, I would either need to save the dataset into seperate files, or load the entire dataset (which may have ballooned to the size of a few gigabytes), use it and then save the entire dataset.