Book-recommendation for DirectX (9/10?)

Started by
15 comments, last by gekko 15 years, 8 months ago
I am just starting to learn plain SW 3D Programming (including the maths behind). After that, i want to switch and start off with directX programming. Currently i am searching for a good book where this api is well explained and all important aspects are covered. What would you say? should i start using directx9 or directx10? Main target is not programming games (i just want to concentrate on the graphics for now) As i am using Vista and i just program for myself, i tend to go for directX10. Too bad there arent many books, which are specialized for directX10 (Most of them are for 9) i found one: http://www.gamedev.net/columns/books/bookdetails.asp?productid=626&CategoryID=8 but the question is - should i better start with 9, cause there are more options? And could you recommend a book thats well readable for a none native english-speaking person? ;)
Advertisement
I program using DirectX 9.0c. I have found the following two sources to be awesome (one a book, one a link)

3D game programming with DirectX 9.0c - A shader approach (Frank Luna)

and

www.directxtutorial.com

Hope this is of some help to you.
I second 3D game programming with directX9.0c - a shader approach

For directX 10 I purchased Advanced 3d Game programming with directX 10.0 and Beginning DirectX 10 game programming.

Neither of those books are great although if you have never done any graphics programming I would start out with the Beginning book as the Advanced doesn't really cover DirectX 10.0 well at all.
thanks for the suggestions and the tutorial link!

found the book from frank luna at amazon.
But i have a few questions:

1) So this book is recommended even if i want to switch to directx10 in the near future?

2) are there any problems with programming directx9 under vista?