GameTutorials Squared?

Started by
8 comments, last by dashurc 15 years, 9 months ago
Hello, This is my first post on this foum!:) I'm a newbie to programming(c++) and game programming. I saw the GameTutorials Squared CD and I need opinions becouse I'm thinking about buy it... So what do you think?Is it a good choice? PS:Sorry for my bad English :) Bye!
Advertisement
No.

They are just giant code dumps with a little bit of writing in between.
Yeah I bought the online version... the code is pretty horrible. In the C++ section they extremely lack use of the STL.

The tutorials are good but I wouldn't buy them.

For years they had them all free of charge but stopped it a few years back which was unfortunate.

Digiben's tutorials were great because he had a clean coding and commenting style and taught theory. "The Tutor's" I didn't care for so much because his code looked all jumbled and was more difficult to follow. Digiben focused on OpenGL and The Tutor focused on Direct3D. The meat of the tutorials was in the comments section because that's where all the theory and algorithm explanations went. The code itself was actually kinda secondary because once you understood the theory that was explained in the comments section the actual syntax used for implementation wasn't all that important.

I think people critique the wrong things when it comes to those tutorials. The tutorial's try not to get too advanced with buffer arrays etc because they want to keep things simple and their main goal is to show concepts.

I personally found them to be very educational, however since they are no longer free most of what they teach can be found on other websites that are free.
Ok I understand ;)
But are there any positive comments?
Does The Cd came with a sort of textbook?
It's no good. Code dumps are a horrible learning tool. Definitely not worth the money.
Mike Popoloski | Journal | SlimDX
Quote:Original post by DrakeFG
Ok I understand ;)
But are there any positive comments?