Sign in to follow this  
Total_Titillation

Just another scrub trying to make his way

Hi I'm going into my 3rd year of a games dev course at uni and I want to start making some games to help me apply for jobs once i finish. The first two years of my course have concentrated mainly on general computing science. I've learned java, and I'm pretty proficient with it. Next year I will be doing all of my games modules. I will be doing some c++ next year, DX stuff etc. But whilst I have time i'd like to maybe start now. I've had a brief look on the web but there seem to be alot of mixed views out there... I'm not an expert in java, but i've seen a little C++ and it made alot of sense to me. I kinda have my heart set on a 2D shooter to start on. Where's the best place to start, can anyone recommend a good book/site/tutorials please!? Any comments will be much appreciated, thanks. [Edited by - Total_Titillation on July 26, 2008 3:12:51 PM]

Quote:
Original post by Total_Titillation
Hi

I'm going into my 3rd year of a games dev course at uni and I want to start making some games to help me apply for jobs once i finish.

The first two years of my course have concentrated mainly on general computing science. I've learned java, and I'm pretty proficient with it.

Next year I will be doing all of my games modules. I will be doing some c++ next year, DX stuff etc.

But whilst I have time i'd like to maybe start now.

I've had a brief look on the web but there seem to be alot of mixed views out there...

I'm not an expert in java, but i've seen a little C++ and it made alot of sense to me.

I kinda have my heart set on a 2D shooter to start on.

Where's the best place to start, can anyone recommend a good book/site/tutorials please!?

Any comments will be much appreciated, thanks.

Its always nice to see someone who is just starting out. Warms my heart, it does :)