Sign in to follow this  
Maze Master

Modifying big engine (scary!)

Hi. For several years I've been kicking around the idea of making a FPS game mod where you can walk on surfaces that are curving around in 3D, like a sphere or mobius strip. I think there could be a lot of possibilities for interesting gameplay with maps that utilize the full 3d-ness of it (you could sneak up literally underneath someone, or something like that). Here is a concept image of what I'm talking about: My background is in applied mathematics, and I love linear algebra and differential geometry, so no problems in that department. However, I don't have experience working with huge codebases like game engines, and it is very intimidating. I'm alright at writing my own small programs and things of that nature, but that is where I write everything and know exactly what everything is and what everything does. The languages I know are python, scheme, matlab/octave, and to a lesser extent c++ and java. I'm not great at any of them (except matlab, I rock at that), and my c++ skills are poor so I'm sure I will be making all sorts of memory leaks and so forth. My question is: How do you wrap your mind around a piece of code as complex as a whole game engine written by someone else? How much work do you think it would take for me to learn an engine and make such a mod? What engines would you recommend? Any other words of wisdom? Thanks!

From the sounds of it, not much of what you want to do requires modifying an existing game engine.

A game engine is simply a more abstract tool you build on top of with a more specific and/or concrete idea. The game engine will supply you with rendering support, animation support, camera support, hopefully input device support, and hopefully some other functionality such as collisions and maybe even physics.