Sign in to follow this  
Lobodus

[java] Java applet game questions

Hi! I am new to Java applets and am making my first Java applet game. It's a simple plattform game where the player is collecting small floppy discs and avoiding getting hit by angry robots. The game is nearly finished and is working fine, but I have some questions that I'm not able to find the answear to myself. I hope someone here can answear. You are my only hope. :) 1. For some reason all graphics are flickering the first time is it shown. This does not look nice. An ugly solution would be to draw all images quickly to the screen before the game has started, but I feel there is a better solution. I am using normal java.awt.image Images. All game objects are storing their own Images. Maybe there are some way I can buffer all the images before they are drawn? Or am I just missing something? 2. There is a couple of different levels in the game. The levels are tile based and consists of small 17x17 sized pictures which are drawn to the screen. The level pieces are not moving so it feels like a waste of computer power to draw each level more than once. Right now all the tiles are drawn to the screen every time the paint() method is called. I have a method called "makeBg" which are drawing small rectangles to a Graphics (Java.awt.Graphics) with a couple of backgroundGraphics.fillRectangle-calls making a nice shaded background in optional colour. Then I am, instead of drawing 20 filled rectangles to the screen every time paint() is called, just drawing the backgroundGraphics. An idea is to make the "makeBg" also draw all the level elements (walls etc.). It would make the program do fewer painting operations. For some reason backgroundGraphics.drawImage does not seam to work at all from the makeBG-method. Neither does it work very well to draw the Images just one time from paint(). Sometimes all the Images are drawn, sometimes just the half of them and sometimes none of them are drawn. I don't understa