• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Visualizing tangent space theory

This topic is 3489 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm fairly new to bumpmapping and whilst managed to implemented in HLSL i have some questions(please forgive me if they seem noobish, but here goes): In my vertex shader i calculated the light vector in world space and then, when just about to multiply it with the inverse of the tangent space matrix i transformed the tangent,bitangent and normal from object space to eye space and then performed the multiplication. It seems that everything is ok now. 1.0 Why do i have to transform the T,B,N vectors from object space to eye space? (Not doing this it seems the illuminated portion of the model is "fixed", affecting the modelview matrix the illuminated portion of the model just rotates along with the model). I'm trying to understand the calculation of the tangent space matrix but there's something bothering me. From a text over the internet(here: http://www.cescg.org/CESCG-2006/papers/TUBudapest-Premecz-Matyas.pdf) i can read:
Quote: