WM_KEYDOWN Problem

Started by
6 comments, last by 2disbetter 12 years, 8 months ago
I'm just starting out in the wonderful world of windows api programming. I've cruised the net trying to find an answer but no luck so far. I'm trying to make a basic space invaders game to get myself going here. Using real easy rectangles and such so I can work on the api and program flow. I've come to the part where I need keyboard input to move the player and read gunfire. I've manged to use WM_KEYDOWN to read keyboard input so I can move the character left or right and the spacebar to shoot. The problem I have is that it seems like WM_KEYDOWN only reads 1 key at a time. So I can either more or shoot but not both. If I am moving left and I hit the spacebar to fire I stop moving. I could only find one other person who was asking about this type of question with google and it was on a MSDN forum and he didn't really get the answer to his question. So I guess I'm asking is there a way to get input from both keys at the same time and if so how or do I need to move on to something more like directinput? Thanks for any help.
Advertisement
Maintain an array of keys that you turn on or off depending on if you receive a WM_KEYDOWN or WM_KEYUP message. So you can check if several keys are pressed at once eg. if(Keys[VK_SPACE] && Keys[VK_LEFT])...
You could probably use GetAsyncKeyState(). I moved to DirectInput when I had that problem. Also, one problem I had with trying to use something similar to what Headkaze suggested was that windows only seems to recognize up to 6 key-downs, and then any additional keypresses are kind of screwy (i.e. holding down 6 keys and then pressing a seventh). It probably wouldn't be too much of a problem since I doubt a space invaders game needs to respond to 6 simultaneous key events, but it might cause problem later on I suppose.
Quote:Original post by sotsilent
You could probably use GetAsyncKeyState(). I moved to DirectInput when I had that problem.