• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Offsite Development..

This topic is 3478 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I was wondering if any of the more seasoned folks could answer a question for me. I'm currently in pre-production on a tech demo that would require a relatively small team of people - a total of seven individuals, three part time. I've had a lot of experience in the past working with mod teams, and find no real obstacles aside from diminishing incentive and motivation to keep working without pay. However as long as everyone checks in via Ventrilo or other voice communication software, things tend to go well until you realize how slowly you're moving because no one is acting like creating the mod is their actual job because there is no compensation. I am now in a position to provide compensation, and need to know if this changes anything. Have any of you had any experiences you could share working with a team that is totally offsite, WITH compensation? How did it work out for you and did things go smoothly? Any pit falls to be avoided that I may have not encountered but should definitely know about before moving forward?

Advertisement
R, you wrote:

>I am now in a position to provide compensation, and need to know if this changes anything.

Good, then you're going to find out!

>Have any of you had any experiences you could share working with a team that is totally offsite, WITH compensation?

The vast majority of the 80+ games I've produced were with external developers.

>How did it work out for you and did things go smoothly?

Every case was different. I didn't mention how many games I produced got canceled before completion.

>Any pit falls to be avoided that I may have not encountered but should definitely know about before moving forward?