• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Possible to copywrite game concepts before making game?

This topic is 3457 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Just curious if it is possible to copywrite the fictional universe (characters, technology, background info, etc.) you have developed for your game, before actually creating the game. I say this because I have a lot to learn programming-wise, but I have so many ideas for my games.

Advertisement
I'm no lawyer, but I'm guessing you need to officially publish something to prove it's your IP. Write a book =]

Quote:
Original post by Omid Ghavami
I'm no lawyer, but I'm guessing you need to officially publish something to prove it's your IP. Write a book =]

So write like a novel with my game plot? Great idea! Ya know, my official website (that has all my projects, art, etc.) will be up soon once me and my friend finish coding it, so I could submit all my drawings and stuff there, copywrite them, then write and publish the storyline in novel format. Is that what you had in mind?

Spend your time creating your universe. Don't bother trying to defend it from the evil IP Thieves until later.

You should also review the differences between different forms of IP, such as the differences between copyrights and trademarks. The former prevents literal copies and a specific range of derivative works, which probably isn't what you are looking for; the latter prevents use of the distinctive elements of your universe, which is probably what you are hoping to achieve.