• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Inventory system framework... (I need help)

This topic is 3456 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am still pretty new to game development. I have a couple books I have been working out of and have about two years of javascript experience (the engine I use uses javascript as the scripting language). The trouble I am having is trying to wrap my head around this inventory system and whole 'game object' concept. I know javascript doesn't have a true inheritance system, but I know about prototypes and parasitical inheritance which does the job, but then this rises a new question, why even have a base game object class? Anyway, I was planning on havnig a system similar to a slotted bag inventory, such as you would find in Daoc, WoW, etc. There are n number of bags and each bag can hold n number of items. For argument sake, lets say the inventory is 5 bags, each bag can hold 8 items. The items are not the tetris/diablo2 style, but one slot = one item. So I thought I would create an Inventory system like this:
function Inventory()
{
    bag = new Array([5]);
    for(var i1 in bag)
    bag[i1] = new Bag([8]);

this.getBag = function(bagNumber){return bag[bagNumber];}
}

function Bag(size)
{
    var slot=new Array(size)
    for(var i1 in slot)
    slot[i1] = new Slot();

this.getSlot = function(slotNumber){return slot[slotNumber]}
}

function Slot()
{
    var item = itemList[[0]];

this.getItem = function(){return item;}
    this.setItem = function(i){item = i;}
}

So now to create this I just call something like:
var playerInventory = new Inventory();
//to set an item in a slot
playerInventory.getBag([0]).getSlot([5]).setItem(masterItemList[[25]]);

//to get an item in a slot
playerInventory.getBag([0]).getSlot([5]).getItem();