• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
snowfell

function for randomizing variables

This topic is 3782 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

*//SOLVED Im pretty new at some things in C++ and this happens to be one of those things that I don't have down yet. I'm sure this is a super easy problem. What I need is a function asks for a max and min for the random range then makes a random variable and returns it. This is what I have so far:
void RandValue(int rand_min, int rand_max)
{   
     int rand_current;

srand(time(NULL));
     rand_current = rand() % rand_max+rand_min;
}
Now this all works well except now I need to be able to use this function like this:
cord_x=RandValue(1,100);
What do I need to add to do this? I tried return(rand_current) but that does work. Anyone know? Thanks [Edited by - snowfell on August 3, 2008 1:53:37 PM]

Advertisement
return isn't a function call, so you don't need the parenthesss:
return rand_current;

Additionally you should probably not have the call to srand within this function; it seeds the random number generator, and you most likely only want to call it once at the beginning of your program (or at least some time before trying to make use of rand.

//EDIT: You also need to specify an appopriate return type for your function.

Ok I changed the code a bit but when I tryed using the code like I have posted above I got a error like "void value not ignored as it ought to be". Any idea why it would say this?

What function currently looks like:
{
int rand_current

srand(time(NULL));

return rand_current;
}

EDIT: "You also need to specify an appopriate return type for your function." What exactly does this mean?

You need to give your function a return type.

int RandValue(int rand_min, int rand_max)
{
int rand_current;

rand_current = rand() % (rand_max - rand_min);