• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
torrentise

Generating STL files from images and vice versa

This topic is 3728 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all, I am new to graphics programming. I am about to work on a project that requires producing STL files from images (dental images) and vice versa. Intermediate images will be used for image processing and recognition. STL files will be input to a custom CAD system. I am wondering about three things: 1. how to generate STL files in principle? 2. how to generate one from and image? 3. how to convert such a file to an image? I really would appreciate any help. :D Are BSP Trees are involved in anyway? I have just read about the algorithm, I am not even sure if it is a naive or a crude question! Thank you in advance.

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by torrentise
Hello all,

I am new to graphics programming. I am about to work on a project that requires producing STL files from images (dental images) and vice versa. Intermediate images will be used for image processing and recognition. STL files will be input to a custom CAD system.

I am wondering about three things:
1. how to generate STL files in principle?
2. how to generate one from and image?
3. how to convert such a file to an image?

I really would appreciate any help. :D

Are BSP Trees are involved in anyway? I have just read about the algorithm, I am not even sure if it is a naive or a crude question!

Thank you in advance.
First up, can you please delete your double post.

According to wikipedia the STL file format is just a simple triangular-mesh format. The mesh format is irrelevant to your main problem (converting from images to meshes or vica versa) - the techniques required for the main problem will be the same if you use STL, 3DS, COLLADA (etc) files to store the mesh.