• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Developing an FPS Where Real Money Changes Hands

This topic is 3407 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello All, I apologize for my first post being one seeking consultation, however here goes: I am looking into the idea of making a Half Life 2 Mod (or similar) where players load their account with real money, and on being killed a token amount (10 cents?) is transferred to the player who killed them. This would add a level of excitement to the game. I know this has been done before, Kwari for example, which didn't go down well. But I would put this on the poor graphics, and game play more than the idea. I have little knowledge of programming, and so I am looking for advice on feasibility. Also, so you know this is not a pipe dream I earn roughly $5 million per year and would be financing this venture myself. One question I have is would the Half Life Mod allow to incorporate a secure, billing system? Or is it too closed up. Open for advice, and criticism of the idea. Thanks for your time.

Advertisement
Yep that would be a concern. Another is laws relating to online gambling, though Kwari seemed to get round them.

Thanks

A half-life mod consists of a C++ DLL running on the server, and one running on the client.
There's no (technical) reason why the server DLL couldn't open up a SSL (or other secure connection) to a central transaction server to report game-statistics, which could later be processed into monetary transactions.