• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
umen242

beginner question looking for cross platform 3d engine

This topic is 3663 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all i like to start doing casual games in 3d and i hope not to reinvent the wheel so to start i need cross platform ( linux , mac , win) 3d engine that is freeware can you experts give me recommendation about such engine . im c++ programmer . so engine in c++ will be great. Thanks allot

Advertisement
I'm also a beginner, and I'm curious what engines are a good idea to start with, if anyone can provide some helpful tips in that area.

I'm not especially looking to develop for several desktop platforms, but I'm concerned with the possibility of an engine that can port to one or more consoles, should I want to go that route later.

As far as style of game, I have several rough concepts, and most of them would seem to favor "sandbox" gameplay, if that matters. I would like an engine that is capable of producing expansive environments. I'm new to programming (brand new, actually), so something relatively easy to learn while being full of features would be good.

I've been checking various engines and middleware SDKs from internet searches, and it seems to be a huge list with some being "free" and a ton costing somewhere beyond my means. I would absolutely like to produce commercially, but for now I'd just like to use the "big boys' toys" and learn as I go.

the important question for me is what is more standard fixable for NOT beginner programmer (10 years ) but new to 3d programming ( not 3d concepts )
from the wiki i read its seams that there is more sympathy with the OGRE engine .