Sign in to follow this  
strawberreh

Dreams of Designing

strawberreh    122
Today is Monday, the 11th of August 2008, and I begin to write this approximately 2 hours before I ride off to University. I am studying a Bachelor of Arts, and my subjects range from Effective Writing courses to Communications and Media. However, I have recently realised – from the dual impact of limited enjoyment in my course and the expenses required to continue – that I want to become completely immersed in the world of Game Design. Since the age of 14, I have played a myriad of games to say the least. My enjoyment has spanned all genres of gaming, however many notable games have arisen. I believe that in order for me to achieve my goal not only as a Game Designer, but as a designer of a phenomenal game, I need to evaluate the games I have enjoyed not only for their first impressions, but for their lasting ones also. From RPGs such as Diablo II, to strategy games such as Starcraft and Age of Empires, the minutes have stretched into hours and sometimes days where I could not satiate my need to get that build-altering item, kill that last fugitive Zergling or show Genkis Khan the effectiveness of a Byzantine blade. FPS games such as the unshakable Halo and Half Life series also provided great deals of satisfaction; however, I have come to understand that the portion of gaming known as ‘Role-Playing’ continues to stay ahead of its competitors with one aspect: replayability. It is for this reason that I want to become involved in the design of RPGs, not only because of their increased longevity in the eyes of the buyer but also because there is a depth to them that you cannot sample from first-person shooters. Sure, blending RPGs with FPSs has been attempted before...however, I know as an experienced gamer that their titles are not amongst the supreme. I shall devoid from naming any games that I have felt were sub-par in comparison to the games I have grown to love; please know, however, t