Sign in to follow this  
Kaycon11

Problem with integrating lua in C++.

Ok, I am new to using scripting languages in my applications, I am doing this for the first time. My problem right now is this, the debug version works and runs, I can edit the lua file and rerun the program without rebuilding, but when I try to build a release version(I'm using MSVS2008) I get like 6 linking errors. Here is my C++ code, Its a Win32 console application. -------------------------------------- extern "C" { #include<lua/lua.h> #include<lua/lualib.h> #include<lua/lauxlib.h> } #include<iostream> using std::cout; using std::endl; int main (int argc, char *argv[]) { int s=0; lua_State *L = lua_open(); //load the libs luaL_openlibs(L); //run a Lua scrip here luaL_dofile(L, "do-me.lua"); cout << "\nI am done with Lua in C++.\n" << endl; lua_close(L); system( "pause" ); return 0; } -------------------------------------- here is my lua code (file name do-me.lua) -------------------------------------- print "Start" for i=1,12 do print(i) end print "End" -------------------------------------- Like I said, it works like it's suppose to, I can edit the lua file and the rerun the program without rebuilding, but the only problem is the fact that when I build a release version it fails and gives me this: ----------------------------- ------ Build started: Project: new lua, Configuration: Release Win32 ------ Compiling... main.cpp Linking... main.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _luaL_newstate main.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _lua_pcall main.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _luaL_loadfile main.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _luaL_openlibs main.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _lua_close C:\...\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\lua\new\Release\new lua.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 5 unresolved externals Build log was saved at "file://c:\...\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\lua\new\new\Release\BuildLog.htm" new lua - 6 error(s), 0