Sign in to follow this  
rosshildick

Ok go nuts in your answer... (my first post)

I aspire to be a 3d designer. I love realism mainly but also enjoy low poly models and animation; I'm not that good... I'm not that bad. I could easily make a character and world. What I need to know is (give me software names, courses to attend, books to read, videos to watch, tutorials to view...) ANYTHING that would get me from start to finish - Setting up a world and importing a character ... or something (a ball, maybe?) to move around using "w.a.s.d" on the keyboard... So to sum up - How to I make a rpg style game from start to finish? Ive got the modeling down - what next? I havn;'t found a forum that sums this up for me yet... BNe as blunt or as detailed as you like - Cheers in advance :)

Thanks this looks pretty damn exact to what Io was asking!

Oh and btw, I wouldn't mind hearing how people first got into the game developing side of things? (I fear responses like "Well I started programming when I was 12" - im only 19, surely thats not too late to start from almost scratch?)

Thanks Again!

I'm 24 and just taking my first real attempt at it. I have a lot to learn but I don't see how it could ever be too late to start something.

Why not look at using your modeling skills in a Halflife (or any 3D FPS game that has an SDK) model? That would let you test out the animation, textures (if you're doing that bit) and the models them selves.

If you're wanting to know how to make an RPG there are steps even before the modeling. Come up with an design document that kind of lays out the plan for your game. Then you'd need to program the game itself, create the art and models (not in that order, or any order for that matter). If you can find others that would help you in your game you could focus on the modeling side of things. I guess I'm not really sure on your plan here, sorry I can't be of more help. I'm new here myself and thinking this is my first post as well (been lurking).