Sign in to follow this  
janevblagoj

Network componenets for my game!

janevblagoj    122
Hallo! I’m a author of the computer game “Poppy and Rose” which I programmed it in Delphi 6. I think that the game will attract more attention if it is played in a network between two players. But because I’m not professional programmer, and because of my age (I’m 51 year old) I just cannot make that. This is why I need help, and when I mean help I mean a source code of some kind (in Delphi 6) with these segments: - A segment in which a connection is made between two players that should be in a peer to peer base, but one of them would act like a server and the other will be a client that will connect to the server; - A segment that will initiate that the two players have the same time; - A segment in which the two players transfer data between them; - A segment where is formed a joined table of results. Can I find a source code with this attributes, maybe from some other simple video game? Thank you Blagoj My e-mail: jblagoj@yahoo.com

Jack9    102
Disclaimer: I never learned Delphi

To answer your question directly, there is no Delphi Framework for converting an application to a client-server p2p model with a shared data structure. That's the bad news. Good news is that I could quickly bring up a number of Delphi networking tutorials using Google.

For example:
http://delphi.about.com/od/networking/l/aa112602a.htm

I would suggest looking at an IRC (chat) example. This will probably show you how to do basic networking and message passing.

You will need to have a mechanism to set an application to be able to host. This can be as simple as enabling "hosting" which sets up a listening socket on a port of your choosing on the player's machine.