m_mpTextures And szFile are defined like so:
//In a class
std::map<const char*, NodeTexture*, TextureCompare> m_mpTextures;

//szFile Proccess
char *szFile;
szFile = new char[strlen(szFilename)+1];
	strcpy(szFile, szFilename);

_strlwr( szFile );

//Then if(m_mpTextures.find( ... and so forth.

Can someone suggest what to do? I am not very good with exceptions that well.. the szFile goes through a process that gives it a value so it isn't NULL. VS2005/C++/Win32

Quote:
Original post by ajm113
Hello, I get a exception error on this line:

I'm afraid you'll have to tell us exactly what error or exception you get.

That's not going to work like you think it should. char *'s are not strings, so the map will not do a strcmp when it tries to find them (unless you're providing your own comparison function), it will check if the pointer addresses are equal. Use std::strings if you want to use strings as map keys.

I suspect your exception is an access violation because you aren't properly allocating the char*'s you're using as keys. Can we see where in code you do that?

Well I get this exception error:

Unhandled exception at 0x6b94704d (msvcp80d.dll) in main.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x03010101.

@Driv3MeFar, sorry I am a bit light headed right now, but I don't believe I did that in my code for char *s. Can you give me a small example what you would do?

We'd need to see the code for TextureCompare in order to understand what is causing the crash.
However you could probably make the problem go away by just using "std::string" instead of "const char *". That'd make it a whole lot easier too.

Quote:
Original post by ajm113
Well I get this exception error:

Unhandled exception at 0x6b94704d (msvcp80d.dll) in main.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x03010101.

@Driv3MeFar, sorry I am a bit light headed right now, but I don't believe I did that in my code for char *s. Can you give me a small example what you would do?