Sign in to follow this  
javrba

SlimDX Effect.FromFile error from MiniTri Sample

I'm new to SlimDX and have been trying to get the September 2008 Direct3D10 MiniTri sample running. I continue to have exceptions from Effect.FromFile. The .fx file appears valid and is in the correct directory. The output window shows "Module Not Found" for the exception. I haven't figured out how to download and debug the source (yet), but on inspection I find that the signatures of the two FromFile calls do not match in the Effect.cpp and Effect.h files. (The pool and include arguments do not appear in the .cpp file but are in the .h file - and the SlimDX documentation.) Any help would be appreciated.

Can you perhaps explain more about your problem? I have no troubles running the D3D10 MiniTri sample here. Also, I'm not sure what you mean when you say that the two function signatures are different. I took a look and they are not.

Did you remember to run the SlimDX installer before trying to run the samples? If you didn't, they won't be able to find the SlimDX DLL and will mostly likely fail with some sort of assembly load exception.

Thanks for the quick response. I did use the SlimDX installer. In fact, I've successfully used SlimDX with the XAudio2 components for a project I've just completed. I wanted to explore Direct3D 10 as a possibility for reworking an existing plotting library.

On my system, using the September 2008 version, when MiniTri attempts to execute its Effect.FromFile call (line 107 of Program.cs), I get the output shown between the lines below.

----
First-chance exception at 0x765ab09e in MiniTri.exe: 0xC06D007E: Module not found.
A first chance exception of type 'System.Runtime.InteropServices.SEHException' occurred in SlimDX.dll
An unhandled exception of type 'System.Runtime.InteropServices.SEHException' occurred in SlimDX.dll

Additional information: External component has thrown an exception.
----