Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Windows ME and Newer Programmers

This topic is 6024 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I started learning C/C++ for DOS console applications as did just about everyone here(as a starting point for C++ or C). I know Windows 98 does not require DOS but comes with it -- and I think DOS actually loads Windows 98. But what happens when 98 is obsolete and everything is Windows ME+? Will new programmers be forced to learn how to program in Windows from the start? Thats kind of overwhelming don't you think? Maybe Microsoft should have thought of that before getting rid of DOS.(which I still love) But a simple solution to this problem is having some sort of console or command line application to simulate DOS so that new programmers can still write older(DOS) C/C++ console apps. That was my 2 cents. P.S. Why cant Microsoft make a SIMPLE internet broswer on their OWN operating system that doesn't FREEZE!!!! ---Seriously. "Ogun's Laughter Is No Joke!!!" - Ogun Kills On The Right, A Nigerian Poem. Edited by - EbonySeraph on June 13, 2001 1:19:45 AM

WinME runs DOS apps fine. It has a DOS emulator built in so when you run a straight DOS program and use BIOS routines it emulates them. Win2000 runs them too. And if you want, MSVC++ has the option to build a console app. It needs windows to run though.

No one is ever taught using DOS, we are all taught on linux/unix boxes. The only people who learn dos are ones who teach themselves it on their own time with books. Also, My college University of Minnesota doesnt have 1 single course that would ever teac anything on windows, its so anti-microsoft it makes me sick. You graduate with a bachelors or even masters from here in computer science with out ever touching MS Windows, which is just sad.

Possibility