Sign in to follow this  
Super Llama

C++ equivalent to Application.StartupPath?

Okay, with GetModuleFileName, what do I pass as the hModule? I've never used that type before... also what is argv[0]? I'm kind of new to C++, I understand it well but I don't know all the functions yet (switched from VB and C#)

EDIT: Nevermind, I googled it and found out it should be NULL. Thanks for telling me about the function [smile]

EDIT AGAIN:
I've implemented it successfully, thanks for the help. It took me a while to figure out the LPCH buffer and Size but that's what MSDN is for :D

Quote:
Original post by Super Llama
also what is argv[0]?
In a standard C++ application, your main function should look something like this:
#include <iostream>

int main(int argc, char **argv) {
std::cout << argv[0] << '\n'; // This will print the application's launch path
}

The first item in the argv array (i.e. argv[0]) is your program's launch path. However, if you are using WinMain instead of main, things will be a little different.

Quote:
Original post by swiftcoder
The first item in the argv array (i.e. argv[0]) is your program's launch path.

That's not guaranteed. According to the C++ standard (section 3.6.1 paragraph 2), argv[0] is "the name used to invoke the program". This may or may not include the path to the application, and in fact is allowed to be an empty string.

Quote:
Original post by SiCrane
Quote:
The first item in the argv array (i.e. argv[0]) is your program's launch path.

That's not guaranteed. According to the C++ standard (section 3.6.1 paragraph 2), argv[0] is "the name used to invoke the program". This may or may not include the path to the application, and in fact is allowed to be an empty string.
Fair enough, but in all the command line environments I have encountered, it has given exactly the (expanded) string I typed to launch the application, which is the relative path from the working directory.