Looking for up to date c++ tutorials

Started by
3 comments, last by Wan 15 years, 6 months ago
I am trying to learn programming for games from the bottom up. I am basically a total beginner, and i am frustrated with the resources that i have found so far. It seems like the tutorials i have been to are out of date, and so the code snippets are outdated, and the suggested compilers are several versions ahead of what they are using. As a result, I get bugs i cant even begin to work out on the most fundamental beginner levels of programming. I was hoping someone could link me to some solid up-to-date tutorials for win32, windows, C++, or DirectX basics. Right now i have the windows visual c++ 9.0 express edition, and Bloodshed Dev-c++ compilers. I would be happy to trade them out for something else, as long as it works with what the tutorials are teaching. I would appreciate any help, but also feel free to let me know if I am making some kind of wrong assumption, or if i am headed in the wrong direction entirely. Thank you.
Advertisement
Quote:It seems like the tutorials i have been to are out of date, and so the code snippets are outdated, and the suggested compilers are several versions ahead of what they are using. As a result, I get bugs i cant even begin to work out on the most fundamental beginner levels of programming.
Tutorials usually are pretty bad. A serious learning resource is either a book or a focused article.

Actually, since you say you are a complete beginner, I suggest not going the C++ route. It’s not a good first language, and you will hear that opinion repeated by several others on this forum. You can read other forum posts that are archived here, to see the arguments we make against C++. There’s even one going on currently in the Game Programming thread (see: why is C++ still being over-used). The usual recommendations here are pick out of Python, C#, and Java. That’s a good selection.