Sign in to follow this  
rjbishop

[SOLVED] (SlimDX) Mouse disrupts DirectX Panel, High CPU

All, I have an audio based program written in C# and use SlimDX for DirectX interfacing. I have a standard Panel that is being used to draw spectrum analysis type of data at high speed, using DirectX. The DirectX drawing is working no problem- I'm doing around 48 fps, and keeping up with the FFT being done on the audio data no problem. But as soon as my mouse pointer enters any area of the Panel, CPU spikes up to 75%, and my audio gets very choppy and sounds cyborg-like. What could be causing this? I don't process any mouse messages, and have disabled OnPaint and OnBackgroundPaint messages. I'm a bit of a newbie with DirectX, so perhaps there is something that I am missing. Thanks for any input! [Edited by - rjbishop on October 11, 2008 12:24:02 AM]

The first thing to do is run a profiler in the two different cases. It should give you a better idea of where the CPU usage is coming from.

Your audio stuttering is probably happening because of the heavy CPU usage stopping you from updating your streaming buffer quick enough. Making the buffer somewhat bigger should help there. I'd also suggest putting the audio update inside a higher priority thread than the rendering.

My first guess would be that hiding the mouse will fix the high CPU usage. If that fixes it then simply draw your own mouse pointer if you need one.

I'd also make sure all your drivers are up to date, just to rule out any problems there.

Quote:
Original post by Mike.Popoloski
That sounds odd indeed. You aren't using DirectInput or RawInput, and aren't processing mouse messages?

Mike- no, not using DirectInput, RawInput, or even DirectSound. Only using the Graphic component of DirectX.

Below is some of the pertinant code:

Here is the Class for my form, where objects are defined:

public class MainForm
{
private System.Windows.Forms.Panel panel2;
// SlimDX objects
static Device Device;