Sign in to follow this  
bearanimations

Untitled

I've wanted to learn programming for a long time now. Ive tried it before, but didnt really get anywere. I wan't to learn C++ and maybe even python but i dont know were to start. Ive looked at some books but, they seem like there written for people who already know programming, they have really complicated terms i don't even know about. I want to learn so these languages so I can make video games and work on a graphics engine but i dont know were or how, to start, so im asking for you guys help since alot of you seem very good at this. (please keep in mind i have NO programming experience, im an artist, trying to learn proggraming.) im looking for maybe a book, that has alot of hands on kind of stuff so i can try it myself, and not one were it shows all of this complex code and tells me what it does so im stuck and don't know how to do it myself. you know what i mean? i want to learn the code and how to make stuff. thanks

http://www.gamedev.net/reference/start_here/

Also, start getting in the habit of looking up terms of that you do not understand. If a book is a solid guide uses a word 'inheritance' and you don't know what it means, look it up. Do not set down the book/tutorial because of word usage.

Programming wasn't easy to start learning (for me) because it requires a great deal of knowledge. Once you learn a good pool of knowledge, it makes everything easier. You learn how to learn, think, study, etc. I think the best programmers are probably not the ones who can program anything currently out right now, but the ones who are able to learn quickly and put what they've learned to great use right away.

Focus on learning.

There are a number of non-programmer tutorials on the Python wiki, they take you through things slowly and describe things in terms of non-technical terminology.