Sign in to follow this  
Fragsta

[.net] C# Obvious Question: Repaint

I'm pretty new to C# and I'm trying to figure out how I can repaint a form when some of the things which made the original image change. I have a square on the screen, and when I press W A S or D it moves in the appropriate direction. In theory, it does, and I've got the console to tell me it's location. But I can't get Form1 to repaint. I have a class called Ship, which has a DrawShip method (accepts Graphics _g) and the crucial line is here:
_g.DrawRectangle(new Pen(Color.Red), shipPos.X, shipPos.Y, imgShip.Width, imgShip.Height);
In Form1, where _g is sent from, we have in Form1_Paint, this:
Player1Ship = new Ship(20,20);
Player1Ship.DrawShip(g);
Then I click the S key to move it down and the ship's coordinates change:
private void Form1_KeyDown(object sender, KeyEventArgs e)
        {
            switch (e.KeyCode)
            {
                case Keys.S:
                    Player1Ship.MoveDown();
                    break;
            }
        }
So at this point I want to redraw the image. This seems like an obvious thing to be able to do but I can't see a good way of doing it. Can anyone help me out please?

Hi Fragsta!

Try to call Form1.Invalidate() after the user input:

case Keys.S:

Player1Ship.MoveDown();
Invalidate();

break;

Calling Form1.Invalidate() is the method I usually use when I develop a custom control in .NET; usually I would do something like this:

1) Process user input
2) Update the state
3) Call Invalidate()

This assumes that you are drawing from within the Paint handler, which is pretty much your case; I usually override OnPaint() method when I develop a custom control, while you registered a delegate; however it should make no difference: Invalidate() will trigger the event, and your Form1_Paint() should then be called.

Another little hint; setting Form1.DoubleBuffered to true should prevent flickering, in case you are experiencing it.