Sign in to follow this  
Anth420

From Java to C++

I work full time as a J2EE developer and I have done a fair amount of game programming in Java on my own (multiplayer server-client stuff with database for persistence). One of my co-workers and I want to pick up C++, more specifically 2d game programming, and we are having trouble with where to start. There doesn't seem to be a lot of good tutorials or books answering some basic questions. OpenGL vs DirectDraw vs DirectX vs XNA vs WinAPI vs ??? I am a fairly good programmer, so I'm not worried about the basics of C++. I am just looking for a good tutorial or book to get my foot in the door and some guidance on which API is recommended for basic 2d graphics.

Using C++ it is generally OpenGL and DirectX.

DirectX:
+Full featured library
+Updated more often then OpenGL
+Has better driver support
-Windows only
-Large learning curve (from what I gather)

OpenGL:
+Easier to learn
+Cross-platform
-What you learn may not be them right thing to do (OpenGL3 fixes this a little)
-Bad driver support

Ultimately if you do want to do graphical work though, you may be better off getting a 2D engine in your case. Just use Google to find one.

It depends on what basic questions you need answers to. If it's questions relating to c++ then simply post em here, but if you feel like you've got some grounds in the languge then there are millionz of tutorials out there. Check out This if you want to start with DirectX, or this NeHe if you prefer to start with OpenGl.

Quote:
Original post by KodeNerd
Using C++ it is generally OpenGL and DirectX.

DirectX:
+Full featured library
+Updated more often then OpenGL
+Has better driver support
-Windows only
-Large learning curve (from what I gather)

OpenGL:
+Easier to learn
+Cross-platform
-What you learn may not be them right thing to do (OpenGL3 fixes this a little)
-Bad driver support