Sign in to follow this  
Sliverspark

Game Design Document Inquiry Regarding Detail

When writing a game design document, how far into detail should one go? I realize that it must include everything in your game, no problem, BUT; do I need to go as far as to work up mathematical equations and algorithms on how the combat works, precisely? Because I am far from a programming genius, or even a math genius. I personally don't think it needs to be addressed; just the idea and how it should work. I wanted some official input on the matter however.

Your game design document only needs to be detailed enough to communicate your concepts. Beyond that, a GDD is worthless because as you actually begin building a game everything changes.

A GDD is really just a list of assumptions. You might say, for example, that you want to create a combat hybrid between Zelda and Mario Galaxy. Yet, when you actually implement that and try it out, you find that it's no fun. So that idea goes away. However, in that process of discovery, you might have found a thing or two about your combat that is really fun, and so you focus on those things and embellish them to the point of excellence. That becomes your game, not your original idea.

Game development is a living breathing process and most game design docs get thrown out in the first six months because they fail to remain relevant over time.

If you write your GDD after you've already done all of your pre-production work and you actually know what your game is going to be, that's a different story. But that's not what you're talking about.

So, keep it brief, use lots of relevant examples, and focus on trying to communicate an idea as opposed to massive amounts of micro data. That would be my advice.

There isn't really a perfect design for a Game Design Document (GDD). It is going to be influenced by you're technical writing style, the team you are working with, and the publisher you are working with.