Sign in to follow this  
Domn

Choosing a Compiler

Hi everyone, i am new to programming in general and i know how to figure out variables and know how to make text programs like "Hello World". I am curently working with Microsoft Visual C++ Express. I was wondering if their were any other free C++ compilers as good as what i am using. Also I don't have any C++ books and i was wondering what tutorial would help me learn the basics of C++. Thanks for any help.

Quote:
Original post by Domn
I was wondering if their were any other free C++ compilers as good as what i am using.

Nope!

Quote:
Original post by Domn
Also I don't have any C++ books and i was wondering what tutorial would help me learn the basics of C++. Thanks for any help.

Google!
A sample result!

[smile]

By compiler, do you mean IDE(integrated development environment) or actual compiler(stand-alone program which only converts code to binary) ? I will assume IDE for now.

My opinion is not "professional"... but that may be why it could be useful! That sounded dumb, but let me explain.

I have tried learning C++, and for a while, I tried finding compilers that would be useful, easy to understand, and free, not to mention good. It's not all that hard to find a compiler, really!

Along the way, I used compilers like DevC++, Code::Blocks, and Visual C++ by Microsoft like you are using now.

I liked Visual C++, but in all honesty, for learning, it was not all my favourite. Some times you just want a program that can compile the necessary stuff without un-necessary junk. So I chose DevC++ to try that. DevC++ is relatively small, takes add-ons for about anything you want, and can execute 1 page of code independently, where as when I used VC++ I tried hard to find out how to make a program while not actually making it a project.