Sign in to follow this  

Laptop / Desktop Setup

This topic is 3341 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm about to graduate with a degree in Computer Science and am contemplating staying on for a masters in game development. Right now I have very little experience in programming legitimate games and had a couple questions to ask. Next summer I plan on spending an exorbitant amount of money on a high end gaming desktop. I also would like to have a laptop, but seeing as I'm going to blow my money on the desktop I am looking for something preferably less than $500. One of the things I want to do on the laptop is game development, nothing groundbreaking, just things like 2D multiplayer games. So, will a cheaper laptop computer work as a sufficient environment for these kinds of games, or does game development generally take a more powerful CPU than average? Also, if I want to be able to move development of a game between the laptop and desktop whenever I want what is the best way to do this? I guess I could set up something like CVS, but I'm wondering if switching development computers is as simple as copying a project to a flash drive and opening on a different computer. I realize the questions are somewhat vague and probably very dependent on specifics, but try to answer generally if you can.

You don't need a fast computer for development of games (actually developing games is no more demanding than developing anything else - it's the game itself that requires the faster CPU/GPU - so as long as the game itself can run on the laptop you choose, I don't think you'll have a problem).

Having said that, the 5400rpm disk drives that come in most laptops do make compiling a bit of a pain. If you've got a high-end desktop computer (presumably with a 10,000rpm drive in it) you'll definitely notice the difference there.