Sign in to follow this  
ZeiN

Voronoi / Cellular newbie problem

Hi, I'm a hobbyist programmer who likes to try different things (should be red as "I'm not an experimented programmer"). So I decided to try all this procedural stuff like noise and such. I did start with a Diamond-Square algorithm, works very well, but now I'm stuck on what seems to be a very basic thing : voronoi/cellular texture or any other way you like to call it. There seems to be a problem with the way I use the nearest distance point to get the pixel color but I can't find the solution. I tried numerous things without luck... Here's the python code (only the interesting part) :
	# Worley's Voronoi algorithm
	def voronoi_diagram(self, region=4):

region_size = floor(self.size / region)
		point = []

# Random distribution accross every region
		for x in xrange(region):
			for y in xrange(region):
				px = int(randrange(region_size) + (region_size * x))
				py = int(randrange(region_size) + (region_size * y))
				point.append((px, py))

# Fill colors in
		for x in xrange(self.size):
			for y in xrange(self.size):

d1 = self.size
				d2 = self.size

# Search for the closest point to (x,y) - brut method
				for i in xrange(len(point)):
					_d = sqrt((x - point[i][0]) ** 2 + (y - point[i][1]) ** 2)
					if d1 > _d:
						d1 = _d
					elif d2 > _d:
						d2 = _d

c = d2 - d1
				self.image.putpixel((x, y), c)
And here's an image output (yeah, it's messed up) : So, could anyone help me with that ? It may be a stupid question but I can't resolve it... Thanks, ZeiN