Sign in to follow this  
cathode26

I am having trouble with intersecting a ray and sprite

Hi everyone, I am trying to do collision detection. I am: clicking on the screen returning the point that I clicked on turning the point into a ray turning 4 points into a plane, the 4 points of a sprite seeing if the ray intersects with the plane I have never done this before and I have been looking on the net for how to do it. Something is going wrong. If anyone can point me to a correct example or if they see something wrong can you please help me. The idea of how to do it came from this example http://answers.google.com/answers/threadview?id=18979 Thanks in advance to anyone that sees what I am doing wrong. -Vincent int mousex; //your current mouse positions int mousey; //Calculate a picking ray from the mouse positions //I am using directX //i need to get the projection matrix D3DXMATRIX proj; g_d3ddevice->GetTransform(D3DTS_PROJECTION, &proj); //I need the viewport D3DVIEWPORT9 vp; g_d3ddevice->GetViewport(&vp); //this will get me my points p.x = (((2.0f*x) / vp.Width) - 1.0f) / proj(0,0); p.y = (((-2.0f*y) / vp.Height) + 1.0f) / proj(1,1); p.z = 1.0f; //Ray is a struct containing 2, 3d vectors, the origin o and the direction d Ray myRay; myRay.o = D3DXVECTOR3(g_nScreenWidth/2.0f, 384.0f, -350.0f); myRay.d = D3DXVECTOR3(p.x, p.y, p.z); //I need to transform the ray from view space to world space to do that I need //to get the inverse of the view transformation matrix D3DXMATRIX view; g_d3ddevice->GetTransform(D3DTS_VIEW, &view); //inverse of the view matrix D3DXMATRIX vI; //viewInverse D3DXMatrixInverse(&vI, 0, &view) Ray tRay; //temp ray tRay.d.x = myRay->d.x*vI->_11 + myRay->d.y*vI->_21 + myRay->d.z*vI->_31; tRay.d.y = myRay->d.x*vI->_12 + myRay->d.y*vI->_22 + myRay->d.z*vI->_32; tRay.d.z = myRay->d.x*vI->_13 + myRay->d.y*vI->_23 + myRay->d.z*vI->_33; myRay->o.x = vI->_41; myRay->o.y = vI->_42; myRay->o.z = vI->_43; myRay->d.x = tRay.d.x; myRay->d.y = tRay.d.y; myRay-