Sign in to follow this  

C++ exceptions

This topic is 3339 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all As a C programmer I was accustomed to the following method of error handling: if (something went wrong) { // cleanup printf("blablabla\n"); exit(1); } Can someone provide me with the equivalent piece of code in C++? I assume that it will use the try-throw-catch sceme? I have experimented a little, but something is wrong and I cannot locate it. The following program, ------------------------------------------------------------------------ #include <iostream> using namespace std; class foo { private: int i; public: foo(int); ~foo(); void my_throw(); }; foo::foo(int a) { i=a; cout<<"Creating a foo with a value of "<<i<<endl; } foo::~foo() { cout<<"Destroying a foo with a value of "<<i<<endl; } void foo::my_throw() { // if (an unrecoverable error) throw; } main() { foo a(3); a.my_throw(); } -------------------------------------------------------------------------- when executed, fails to call the destructor: --------------------------------------------------------------------------- autir@thrall:~/my_documents/practice$ ./a.out Creating a foo with a value of 3 terminate called without an active exception Aborted --------------------------------------------------------------------------- Any ideas?

You have to specify something to throw. Normally, this will be an object of some class derived from std::exception. "throw" by itself is only used within catch clauses, to re-throw what was caught.

It's worth noting that returning an error value isn't necessarily the wrong thing to do. Sometimes it's more appropriate than throwing an exception.

If you're down in a deep call and you have the ability to create an error object that would be meaningful to code several tiers up the call-stack, an exception would be appropriate.