Help me with my Win32 code

Started by
4 comments, last by Anon Mike 15 years, 5 months ago
I cant seem to get any of my win32 code to work. I am trying to write a Game Window class that encapsulates some win32 window functions and window initiallization. I am very new to win32 and I am having a ton of problems I have a function in my GameWindowManagerClass called CreateGameWindow: Header: HRESULT GameWindowManager::CreateGameWindow(HINSTANCE instance, BaseGameWindow** window, struct GameOptions* const options) the function is bug filled and I have managed to debug part of it but now I am stuck on a section that looks like this:

WNDCLASSEX wndClass;
		memset( &wndClass, 0, sizeof(WNDCLASSEX) );

wndClass.hInstance = instance;
		wndClass.cbSize = sizeof(WNDCLASSEX);
		wndClass.lpfnWndProc = &(BaseGameWindow::WndProc);
		wndClass.lpszClassName = GameLib::WindowClassName;
		wndClass.style = CS_VREDRAW | CS_HREDRAW;

if( FAILED(RegisterClassEx( &wndClass )))
		{
			throw("failed to register window class");
		}

memset( &((*window)->windowProps) , 0, sizeof( (*window)->windowProps) );

HWND hWnd = CreateWindowEx(0,
								   GameLib::WindowClassName,
								   _T("Window Name"),
								   WS_OVERLAPPEDWINDOW, 
								   CW_USEDEFAULT,
								   CW_USEDEFAULT, 
								   GetDesktopWindow(),
								   NULL,
								   instance,
								   0);

if(!(*window)->windowProps.HWnd)
		{
			throw("HWnd not valid");
		}

I am pretty sure that the problem lies in the part where I call CreateWindowEx(). What is wrong with my code? EDIT: also, are there any ways to improve my style? I don't think that this line: memset( &((*window)->windowProps) , 0, sizeof( (*window)->windowProps) ); looks very good but I dont know how to avoid the nasty looking syntax.
J.W.
Advertisement
Did you try calling GetLastError() to find out what the error is?
sorry I am really stupid. the real code is this: