• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Chrono1081

Which way to go?

This topic is 3641 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Let me start off by saying I do not want this to turn into flame bait, this is an honest question that I have not found the answer to through forum searches, or google. I have dabbled in SDL, and I have dabbled in Win32 API and I have many books that use one or the other (and I will be learning both). But aside from one being cross platform, is there really one that is generally used over the other? From forum searching and googling here is what I came up with: Win32 API leads to using Direct X and is not cross platform. Learning SDL leads to using OpenGL and is cross platform. Aside from the above is there any advantage to learning one over the other?

Advertisement
I started learning SDL probably about 2 weeks ago and I'm almost done with my first game engine. It's clear that, by design, it's been created to cater to newcomers. My advice is to start there. Make something and then when you have that experience, move to OpenGL since it'll be a smoother transition than DirectX.

I don't have any personal experience with DirectX, but I hear it's in many ways similar to OpenGL. So it's really your call.

I wouldn't recommend it, but if you feel you MUST do 3d programming before learning how to do 2d stuff, XNA game studio is a good starting point. Microsoft has adopted the same easily-approachable philosophy, but since it's relatively new, I found it buggy and limited. Still, it's a good starting point for 3d.

XNA runs on either DirectX 9 or 10. I forget which.

Your choice.

Quote:

Win32 API leads to using Direct X and is not cross platform.

Learning SDL leads to using OpenGL and is cross platform.